Exploring “Four Quartets”

This exhibition of works inspired by T.S. Eliot’s “Four Quartets” looks interesting.

20130404-130645.jpg

(“Quartets No. 1 (Spring),” by Bruce Herman)

T.S. Eliot considered “Four Quartets” his masterpiece.

I disagree. A masterpiece is what others do with your work, and “The Waste Land” is it, although I think “Prufrock” is a better poem.

Many, particularly those seeking hope in a chaotic world, do gravitate towards the Christian-inspired “Four Quartets.”

I like my reality straight.

  1. Hiya Andy,

    I completely disagree. “Prufrock” and “Wasteland” are wonderful, and transformed the poetry of the past, but the “Four Quartets” will be stiil be read five centuries from now.

    JM2CW…

    Bernard

    • Do you think so? Maybe it’s my own prejudice. I just find them so … less than overwhelming.

      I will have to re-read them soon; it’s been a few years

      • Hiya Andy,

        I’m well aware of his Catholic tendencies, but my ear hears the Quartets as Hindu – another influence.

        The fact that fascinates me is that the best poet in the English language was born in Mississipspi and worked for Lloyd’s of London during the War.

        How strange is that…

        Bernard

    • annerallen
    • April 6th, 2013

    I agree. The Quartets enthralled me when I was a student, and I loathed Prufrock, but now, as I grow old (and wear my trousers rolled) Prufrock’s eternal elegance speaks to me louder than them all.

    • you know what blows me away? he started writing Prufrock at 22 … published it at 27 …

      alas

  2. I’m guessing you guys are American and I’m grateful you gited Eliot, back to his ancentors, (viz East Coker) but to quote a current English metaphor, on my Desert Island the only poem I need is the Four Quartets.

    p.s. am 58 and I wear boot-cut jeans…

    JM2CW…

    Bernard

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

