Seeing The Fay

(This was my entry for Yearning for Wonderland’s Dancing with the Fairies Fairy Ring contest. I have since expanded it a little past its original 300 words)

Seeing the Fay

One February night I was looking at the stars when an orange cat sped into my garden and stopped by the azaleas, out of sight from the street. A moment later, a black cat with a white nose trotted up as well.

I watched them stand side by side, wondering what they were doing, when a little boy’s voice said, “Hello, Andy.” The voice came from the orange cat.

I looked around and saw no one.

“I know you can hear me,” the voice said, and then there was laughter in the garden: from the jasmine, from the ferns, from the Canna lilies, laughter all around.

“I don’t see why you’re wasting time with him,” a voice that seemed to be coming from the black cat said, squeakily, like a badly played violin.

“He’s good to stray cats,” the first voice said. “He feeds them and gives them water.”

“Hello?” I said, a little annoyed to be talked of in the third person by people I couldn’t see. “Who are you?”

“A good question, you see?” the little-boy voice said.

“I have no time for this,” the violin voice said, and then the black cat sped off into the darkness. The orange cat stayed still.

“You … can talk?” I said.

“Oh, it’s not the cat,” the little-boy voice said. “Cats can’t talk.”

At this, new laughter broke out all around.

“Go on,” a voice like water said.

“Go on,” a voice like the fluttering wings of a sparrow echoed. “Do it!”

“Do it!” a thunderous voice said.

“Veil be gone, true sight come,” the little-boy voice said, after a moment. A hush fell over the garden. The wind grew still.

Then I saw a tiny man with the face of a fox sitting astride the cat.

“I know,” the fox-man said. “You haven’t seen any fay before.”

“No,” I said, lost for words. “There … there aren’t any fay around here.”

“You need to be more observant!” the fox-man said, spurring his cat and speeding out of sight.

And then I saw them: blue, green, and pink lights hovering in the jasmine, laughing; tiny girls with wings above the ferns, laughing; two frogs with human hands under the Canna lilies, laughing.

“No fay ’round here!” the thunderous voice said.

And they all laughed and laughed and laughed.



  1. I love it! That moment when your world turns upside down and you still don’t quite believe it! Nicely done!

  2. really enjoyed your story!

  3. Ah, the moment of discovery. Thank you for entering, Andy!

  4. That’s really cute, love it!

  5. That was really lovely! Great story!

  6. hey all, thanks for taking the time to read and comment. so glad you enjoyed it!

  7. The slow visibility appearing is just wonderful – the way they are all talking about him. Sets the scene beautifully.

  8. I loved how the faeries were riding kitties as mounts. Sure explains some cats *I* know. 🙂

  9. Had me giggling…and that’s a good thing!

  10. Nice piece! I enjoyed the element of surprise.

    • Victoria Boulton
    • February 21st, 2012

    Very fun. I enjoyed the faeries teasing the main character. Good work. 🙂

  11. I liked it! It made me smile. Good job. 🙂

  12. thank you so much everybody =)

    I really appreciate your kind words

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

